All Hearts are dead except those with knowledge... All those with knowledge are asleep except those who perform good actions... All those who perform good actions are deceived except those with sincerity... And all those with sincerity are in a constant state of anxiety... [Imam Shafi'i]

Thursday, August 18, 2005


Assalamualaikum ppls,

I found some information about some foods that I thought were doubtful (might not be halal) that i thought would interest you.

Firstly, concerning glycerin/glycerol:
Emu copied and pasted this excerpt from a vegetable forum (dont ask what she was doing there, but the info is useful).

I wrote to Bruce Edward asking about the source of the Humectant used in Jols Sugar Free Pastilles, the ones that come in small boxes in flavours of Forrest Fruits, Mandarin etc. His response is below:

Dear Duane,
Humectant (422) is Glycerin. Historically Glycerin was derived from Vegetable or Animal fats, as a by product of the soap making industry. In modern times all commercially produced food grade Glycerin is derived from the by products of Vegetable oil production. Hope this info is useful.

Bruce Edward,
Managing Director,
Ph: 03 5336 2933
Fax: 03 5336 2968

Secondly, concerning krispy kreme doughnuts:
I know I emailed it to most people but just in case (plus more ppl might see it here).


The only animal byproducts used in our doughnut are eggs (whites and yolks) and dairy products (including milk, butter, yogurt, whey, nonfat milk and nonfat whey). Our doughnuts are cooked in 100% vegetable oil shortening (partially hydrogenated soybean and/or cottonseed oil). All monoglycerides, diglycerides and enzymes are vegetable based. The lecithin we use is soy based. We also use wheat in our doughnuts, including bran, germ, gluten, starch and flour. Our products may contain allergens. To get further information about our products call us at 1800 557363.

I found this stuff useful so just wanted to spread it around. Hope it helped =D


Post a Comment

<< Home